“The Next Big Thing” blog hop

I feel a little like a deranged rabbit now.  Or a sick one…the word “Blog” has always made me think of someone getting sick.  Maybe after bad cheese or perhaps after a breakup bender.  But the retching, the gagging….the BLOGGING.  OK, I KNOW that’s not what it means, but the sound makes me think of unpleasant things.  Anyway, I was tagged (ever so kindly) by Emma Ennis to participate in such madness.  As for what a blog hop is, it’s (in this case) where an author writes a post answering certain questions on his or her blog and tags other authors to answer the same questions a week later on their own blogs.  It’s a bit of a throw back to the chain letter days. 

Anyway, I can’t promise literature, but here goes nothing.

“What is the working title of your book?” 

To be honest, I haven’t come up with one unless I use the title of the short story it’s taken from.

“Where did the idea come from for the book?” 

I was trying to look at zombies as a for hire service for a submission call.  My brain went on to ask my absolute favorite question…”Why?” Somewhere in the answer, my brain snagged on the story.

“What genre does your book fall under?”

mystery/horror?  Horrific mystery? Either one of those will work.

“Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?” 

I know people I’d like to portray the zombies…most of them aren’t names you’d know.  *smirk*  But I haven’t really thought that far ahead.  Maybe it would work better as puppets.  Or maybe not.

“What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?”

Guy gets shafted for doing the right thing…hilarity ensues.  Ok…maybe not hilarity, but that’s where the story unfolds.

“Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?” 

I have no idea.

“How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?” 

Still working on it.

“What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?”

My brain gets me in trouble when I start comparing my work to others, so I’m not going to answer that question.

“Who or What inspired you to write this book?” 

Deep thinking over a short story submission call.  Once the idea popped up, the characters came scraping at the window.

“What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?”

They won’t hate all the characters.

Ok…that’s it for the questions.  Now I get to tag the others.  HOLD STILL!!!  IT WON’T HURT A BIT!!!!  Ok….maybe a little.

Julianne Snow

Bennie L. Newsome

Michael Evans

Check out their blogs in a week, and they’ll be answering the same questions.

Hahaha!  As I was tagging, a red flashing message appeared at the bottom of the screen.  “You do not have permission to do that.”  Oh, really!?  Well, we’ll just have to see about this….won’t we?

Leave a Reply

