Horrorfind…

This is the second time I’ve written this…the first was deleted in a glitch.  I’m not sure what happened, but it disappeared from the site along with the nice comments from some of the authors that were in attendance.  But I’ll try to regurgitate my own part.

I went to Horrorfind Convention in Gettysburg, PA over the weekend.  I arrived in time to make it to the zombie panel unlike a lot of people still waiting in line.  It’s the first place I’d ever been where will call was slower than at the door.  The zombie panel authors Christopher Golden, Tim Lebbon, Jeremy Wagner, and Scott Baker, amused the few of us that made it in time.  Some of the different takes on zombies mirrored my own.  B.  And if I ever read a story about a zombie apocalypse where the survivors head out to sea and become whalers and the zombies become pirates to survive and take over the seas and the whaling, I’ll know where it started.

After the panel, I wandered around the vendor room,  I met Dr. Pus from Twisted Library Press.  He’s a very nice man.  I have 4 stories in TLPs upcoming anthologies.  I also picked up an autographed copy of Jessica Lynne Gardner’s Unholy Repression and Stavros’s Dead Girl.

After a while, I went to the Women in Horror panel.  One of the most amusing things I’ve ever seen.  Kelli Owen moderated and began by telling everyone how much she hated the panel.  Her points made a lot of sense to me.  She illustrated by giving the audience a quiz.  She read quotes and then we all picked whether it was a man or a woman.  No one was 100% correct.  The other panel members included Mary SanGiovanni, J.F. Gonzalez, James A. Moore, Sheri White, and Lesley Conner.  Christopher Golden (from the audience) tried to bring the topic back around when a drunk filmmaker kept hijacking the panel, and Brian Keene brought the panel pizza. 

On the second day of the convention, I made my way to the carport for a panel of new writers and what they’ve learned so far.  Kevin Lucia, Lincoln Crisler, and Jacob Haddon described some of their own experiences with writing.  I had to laugh because I’ve had some of the same experiences.  For instance: don’t check your email 20,000 times a day.  You’ll get the acceptance or rejection whether you check it once or a zillion times.  Find something else to do (like write more stories) while you’re waiting for a reply.  It’s not uncommon to look back on your earliest stories and hope no one reads them.  After hearing their discussion, some of the things I’d been dealing with didn’t seem so crazy. 

Wandered through the vendor room again and picked up some Twisted Library Titles (Letters from the Dead, Zombology II, and The Zombist).  Also walked out with autographed copies of Samson and Denial by Robert Ford, Dying to Live: Last Rites and Life Sentence by Kim Paffenroth, Soulless by Christopher Golden, and a 2 story  volume from Brian Keene and Kelli Owen.

Overall, it was a fun weekend even though I wasn’t voted zombie prom queen.

Leave a Reply

