Shakespeare Undead

Finished reading Shakespeare Undead by Lori Handeland.  When I went to look up who wrote it, I found it on sale at Amazon for $3.72.  Me?  I spent 70 cents in overdue fees.  Anyway, that’s beside the point.  I found the book to be a lot of fun.  And if I say anything else about the book, it’s a spoiler….so you’ve been alerted.  Yes, there are zombies.  And vampires…and necromancer vampires…and ghosts.  And random references to modern literature, movies, plays.  The latter was the most fun for me.  When you’ve got an undead playwright, who’s to say he didn’t actually write Star Wars?  Ms. Handeland’s characters were quite likable…even the not so good ones were in some ways.  Maybe it’s just the English major in me, but laughing at Shakespeare (whether a play or an unfounded theory about his life) has always been worth my time.  Many people don’t agree…but I’d guess there are some who do.  It’s one of those books that if you read it a second time, there re more things you’d pick up that you didn’t see the first time.  However, I only got to read it once since I had to return it.  Heck, you could skip Starbucks for a day and be able to afford it unless the price has changed.  Then you could read it as many times as you wanted.

Leave a Reply

