Down to the wire…

I remember writing papers in school.  Often times, they’d be due the next day.  Once, I remember finishing an hour before I had to be in class.  Today, I was reminded of that feeling.  I’d had a story rolling around in my head for a few months.  The deadline was approaching, and I wrote tiny bits here and there.  When I checked the calendar, the deadline was here.  Today.  Yikes.  I wrote the story between stints wasting time on Facebook and Twitter.  Don’t worry, I’ll get over that when the novelty of being connected with the world again wears off.  I had a good friend do a read-through for rough, ridiculous mistakes (yes, he found a few).  Then, I did my own edit.  Last, I let the other half read it more for the confusion factor.  He picked up a few words that I’d misused.  Why?  Because I get toilets and sinks confused.  Not in practical usage, just in terminology.  And with an hour and a half to spare (at least in this timezone), I submitted the story.  I’ve got my fingers crossed, and I hope you do to.

Leave a Reply

